Robert L. Galyen
Robert L. GalyenChairman
Bob Galyen is the President of Global Business Development for Amperex Technology Limited and Chief Technical Officer of Contemporary Amperex Technology Limited in The People’s Republic of China. Bob is the Chairman of the SAE International Battery Standards Steering Committee and serves as Liaison to the MVC and China Automotive Advisory Councils for SAE International. He has worked for 38 years in the battery industry and serves on the boards of two not-for-profits and five corporations in the United States.
Pierre-Jean Arvers
Pierre-Jean ArversPresident
Pierre-Jean Arvers is the President of Digatron Power Electronics, an international leader in computer-controlled test and formation equipment for advanced batteries. Mr. Arvers previously held positions at Saft Batteries and ITT Corporation. He holds an M.S. in Chemical Engineering from Catholic University of Paris.
John Warner
John WarnerPresident-Elect
Dr. John Warner is the Chief Marketing Officer at Ener1/EnerDel. He is the author of “The Handbook of Lithium-Ion Battery Pack Design: Chemistry, Components, Types and Terminology” and “Lithium-Ion Battery Packs for EVs”. John previously held leadership positions at Xalt Energy, Magna Steyr Fuel & Battery Systems and Boston-Power.
Davion Hill
Davion HillChairman Emeritus
Dr. Davion Hill is an experienced energy R&D consultant, serving as Principal Investigator on ARPA-e, NYSERDA, and the California Energy Commission technical R&D programs related to battery energy storage performance and safety. Dr. Hill has spearheaded efforts to qualify and test battery systems for maritime hybrid vessels and offshore battery applications. Dr. Hill has led, chaired, or participated in multiple panels on the topics of battery safety with NYBEST, NAATBatt, and ESA. He is has authored 30+ peer reviewed publications and articles.
Randy Moore
Randy MooreChairman Emeritus
Randy A. Moore is President of EaglePicher Technologies, LLC, a manufacturer of high-reliability batteries for aerospace, defense and medical applications. Mr. Moore previously served as Executive VP/GM of Kollsman, Inc. and Vice President and General Manager of Kaman Aerostructures & PlasticFab, Inc. Mr. Moore served in the United States Air retiring as a lieutenant colonel. Mr. Moore received an MBA from SIUE and a BA degree from TLU.
Zachary Kuznar
Zachary KuznarChairman Emeritus
Zachary Kuznar works in the Renewable Generation Development Group at Duke Energy. In this role he focuses on business case development and regulatory initiatives for Distributed Generation in Duke Energy’s regulated service territory (CHP, Energy Storage, Micro-Grids). Zak holds an undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University, and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from Yale University.
Steve Vechy
Steve VechyChairman Emeritus
Stephen L. Vechy is the Senior Director, Global Product Portfolio Management at EnerSys, a founding member of NAATBatt. Vechy is also Chairman of the BCI Industrial Battery and Charger committee. Vechy holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from the Pennsylvania State University, and an MBA in Management from Lewis University.
John Butkowski
John ButkowskiVice President
John Butkowski is a Sr. Staff Engineer at Beckett Energy Systems, a division of the R.W. Beckett Corporation. Beckett Energy Systems provides advanced lithium-ion battery technologies to meet the energy, power and storage requirements in a wide range of markets and applications. John is also a board member of Vocational Guidance Services.
Brian Morin
Brian MorinVice President
Dr. Brian Morin is President and co-Founder of Dreamweaver International, a Lithium-ion and Supercapacitor separator manufacturer. Brian CEO of Innegrity LLC from 2004 – 2010. Brian previously spent nine years in the Research Division of Milliken & Company. Brian received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in physics from The Ohio State University. He received his B.S. degree in physics from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
James Greenberger
James GreenbergerExecutive Director
Jim Greenberger has served as Executive Director of NAATBatt International since co-founding the organization in 2008. He was previously a partner in the Chicago office of the law firm of Reed Smith LLP, where he his practice concentrated in commercial finance, venture capital and cleantech. He received his B.A. from Haverford College and his J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School.
Casey Butler
Casey ButlerDirector of Development
Casey Butler is a global regulatory compliance professional, program manager, and grant administrator with deep experience in the advanced battery industry. He currently serves as General Counsel for Battery Innovation Center (BIC) and previously served as Manager of Corporate Development at Ener1. Prior to joining BIC, he was the Global Compliance Manager at Praxair Surface Technologies.
Sandy Kane
Sandy KaneChief Financial Officer
Sandy is the CEO of Real Sourcing Network, a unique print aggregation company. He spent 27 years with IBM, where he was responsible for IBM’s worldwide semiconductor operations. Sandy co-founded and served as a director of SEMATECH and was a director of the Semiconductor Industry Association. Sandy has been CEO of eight companies, four start-ups and four turn-around assignments. He holds a B.S. in Industrial Engineering from New York University and an M.S. in Engineering Administration from Syracuse University.
John Platt
John Platt Secretary
John Platt is a partner at the law firm of Snell & Wilmer and a proud member of NAATBatt. He advises and represents clients with intellectual property strategies, audits, contracts, due diligence and litigation. John also handles licensing agreements and patent and trademark prosecutions.
John’s patent practice involves Alternative Energy Technologies, using his dual degrees in mechanical and electrical engineering to assist his clients with protecting their intellectual property. He has prosecuted patents in solar, wind, micro-grid, hybrid vehicle electric motors, generation, power regulation and energy storage.
Vivian Yu
Vivian YuNewsletter Editor
This is Vivian Yu’s 6th year editing the NAATBatt Weekly. She has been a proud owner of the all-electric Mitsubishi i-MiEV since 2012, racking up over 56,000 miles to date. Vivian is a CPA. She received her B.S. degree in Accounting and International Business from New York University .